Two AsMA Members Receive RAeS Honors

David G. Newman, D.Av.Med., M.B.A., Ph.D., FRAeS, was admitted to Honorary Fellowship in recognition of his contributions to the field of aviation over several decades. He is currently a



Visiting Professor of Aerospace Medicine at King's College London. Dr. Newman became an undergraduate medical officer in 1987 in the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF). After graduating from the Faculty of Medicine at Monash University in 1989 and 2 years as a public hospital intern and surgical resident, he entered full-time RAAF service. He served as the Flight Medicine Officer for No. 1 Flying Training School, then

became Senior Medical Officer at No. 6 RAAF Hospital, and then spent 3 years at RAAF Base Williamtownas as a medical officer and later as the Senior Medical Officer. He then was the Flight Medicine Officer for 76 Squadron.

In 1997 Dr. Newman was posted to the Royal Air Force School of Aviation Medicine in Farnborough, UK, where he graduated with a Diploma in Aviation Medicine from the Royal College of Physicians of London, and won the Stewart Memorial Prize for the best student. He then spent 7 months as the RAAF Instructor at the Royal Air Force Aviation Medicine Training Centre at RAF North Luffenham. On returning to Australia, he served for 2 years as the Chief Instructor at the RAAF Institute of Aviation Medicine, RAAF Base Edinburgh, South Australia. He left the RAAF in February 2000 and completed his Ph.D. in aviation physiology. He then served as a Professor of Aviation Medicine at Monash University until taking his current position.

Dr. Newman has received numerous awards, including the Weary Dunlop Prize of the Australian Military Medicine Association in 1993 and 1998, the Stewart Memorial Prize from the RAF School of Aviation Medicine in 1997, the Arnold D. Tuttle award in 2000 and the John Paul Stapp Awardin 2014 from the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA), the Royal Aeronautical Society's 2000 Buchanon-Barbour Award, the President's Prize from the Australasian Society of Aerospace Medicine, and the A. Howard Hasbrook Award from the Life Sciences and Biomedical Engineering Branch of AsMA, both in 2012. He is a Fellow of the AsMA, the Royal Aeronautical Society, and the Australasian College of Aerospace Medicine.

Peter A. Hancock, D.Sc., Ph.D., FRAeS, was honored with the Roger Green Medal for Human Factors for his significant and continued contributions to Human Factors research and practice in aviation and other fields. He is currently Provost Distinguished Research Professor, Department of Psychology, Institute for Simulation and Training, and the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management Systems at the University of Central Florida. He is also the 16th University Pegasus Professor and the 6th University Trustee Chair.

In his previous appointment, Dr. Hancock founded and was the Director of the Human Factors Research Laboratory at the University of Minnesota where he was Professor in the Departments of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Psychology, and Kinesiology, and was a member of the Cognitive Science Center and the Center on Aging Research. He also held an appointment as a Clinical Adjunct Professor in the Department of Psychology at Minnesota, was an



Adjunct Senior Research Scientist at the Transportation Institute of the University of Michigan, and was an affiliated Scientist for the Humans and Automation Laboratory at MIT. In 2001 he earned a D.Sc. from Loughborough University, UK.

Prof. Hancock's honors include the Sir Frederic Bartlett Medal from the Ergonomics Society of Great Britain for lifetime scientific achievement in 2000, the 2001 Franklin V. Taylor

Award of the American Psychological Association, the Liberty Mutual Prize for Occupational Safety and Ergonomics from the International Ergonomics Association, the 2002 Jastrzebowski Medal of the Polish Ergonomics Society for contributions to world ergonomics, the 2003 Liberty Mutual Medal of the International Ergonomics Association, and the 2006 Norbert Wiener Award of the Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE). In late 2007 he received the John C. Flanagan Award for of the Society of Military Psychologists of the American Psychological Association for lifetime achievement and also received the 2007 A.R. Lauer Award of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society for lifetime contributions to safety. He was honored with the Raymond F. Longacre Award from the Aerospace Medical Association in 2008.

Professor Hancock is a multiple-term Member of the National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council's Committee on Human Factors, and has served as Chair and Organizer for a number of sub-committees. He is a Fellow and past President of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, a Fellow of the Ergonomics Society of Great Britain, and a Fellow of AsMA.

In Memoriam: Lawrence Marinelli

AsMA staff were saddened to learn of the death of Lawrence Marinelli, M.D., M.P.H., a Fellow of AsMA, in late June 2020. He graduated from Georgetown Medical School and earned an M.P.H. at Columbia University. He served in the U.S. Navy as a Flight



Surgeon and Group Medical Officer, as a Senior Flight Surgeon for the U.S. Naval Reserve, and as Chief of the Federal Aviation Administration's Eastern Region Aviation Medical Division. He was also a past Medical Director of General Dynamics and Continental Airlines and an Aerospace Medical Consultant at Kansas University Medical Center. He was on staff at both Centinela Hospital, where he was Director of Aerospace

Medicine at the hospital's airport medical clinic, and Cedars-Sinai Marina del Ray Hospital.

Dr. Marinelli's honors included the George J. Kidera Award from the Airlines Medical Directors Association in 1988, the Boothby-Edwards Award from AsMA in 1990, and the Navy Commendation Medal for his service as Commanding Officer of Naval Reserve Hospital Lemoore in support of Operation Desert Storm. He was a Past President of the Southwest Region of the Association of the U.S. Navy, a past Selector of IAASM, and a Past President of the Airline Medical Directors Association, where he also served as Chairman of their Awards Committee.